being broke, etc.

18 Nov

This past few months we have been exceptionally broke, just barely managing to squeak by. I have yet to find steady work, and it seems no place is hiring right now. Things are looking up; it seems our luck will change soon. In the meantime, we are hanging especially on the downlow, being social hermits. We have been getting creative in the kitchen, as we hardly have much in the way of groceries. So, I learned how to make seitan, which helps with protein, and I’ve been trying my hand at baking bread. I think I might be bread-challenged, though. What do you do when times are rough to pass the time or boost spirits?

We did get some much needed good news yesterday, and have been able to breathe a sigh of relief. Hopefully next month even more good news will come our way, because we could use all the good vibes we can get. At least we will be able to go home for christmas and not have it stressing us out, because we could really use a short trip out of town.

There is a potluck this weekend, and I am debating on going. I am not sure what to make, and it has to be vegan. I was thinking of mac-n-cheese with nutritional yeast and cashew cream sauce, tomato tofu (our favorite comfort food from our favorite Vietnamese restaurant back home) or something seitanic. Any suggestions?

In other news, I am drowning in schoolwork. I have several papers to write this week, some service-learning at a food shelf to complete, and to really get a clear start on my final project. I do this to myself every semester: I put everything off until it has all piled on top of me, and then I feel completely overwhelmed. Breathe. I can do it. I just have to keep my eyes open long enough.

Leave a Reply

