affinity for henry chinaski

15 Jun

I finished Women, so I can cross that off of my list. I am still working on Portrait of An Artist, but I should be able to get that finished quickly. Women was brilliantly funny, albeit depressingly so. While I am not an alcoholic nor chasing after women, I related to Chinaski. He reiterates throughout the novel his disdain for humanity, yet seems to seek out companionship in many forms. People will screw him over many times (Bobby and Lydia), but he continues to take them back, so he must have the ability to see semblance of positivity in his crummy peers. After I get a few more books knocked off the list of thirty, I intend to read more of Bukowski’s novels with Chinaski in them. I attempted Post Office years ago, but never finished.

2 Responses to “affinity for henry chinaski”

  1. Katie June 16, 2009 at 12:42 am #

    I really liked Women. I just started watching Californication on Netflix and David Duchovny’s character reminds me so much of Hank- he’s even named Hank!

    • plopfizz June 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

      Awesome! I saw that it was streaming, so now I’ll definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

