progress, i guess, really does take baby steps.

2 Feb

Let me start off by saying that I am not “over weight” in the clinical sense, but I do feel sluggish. I have a perfectly normal B.M.I, but I still would like to shed some pounds. Mostly, I want to become much more physically fit, and choose foods that are nourishing as well as filling. So, I started using myfitnesspal.com as a tool to guide me through workouts and calculate my daily nutrition. So, far the pounds are not melting away, but I am seeing definite changes in the way my body looks and feels. The muscle tone is slowly building and the definition is starting to pay off!

The scale is a hard thing to break though, and I am trying my hardest not to get discouraged. Because, I do feel so much more energized and my clothes fit better. This whole thing sounds semi-vain, when I think about people who have loads of weight to lose, and I shouldn’t be complaining when I can still wear a size six and not feel squeezed. This journey really is about me getting healthy, because how can I possibly advise people about their nutrition if I am not practicing sound choices as well!

So, for the past three weeks I have been measuring my foods, calculating nutrition, and working out six days a week for 45 minutes or more. Most days I jog, ride a stationary bike, and do some form of strength-training. I also tend to practice yoga for at least ten minutes of yoga daily, which does wonders for my flexibility and energy! There really is a lot to be said for doing several sun salutations to wake you up in the morning.

So, while I am not seeing the pounds fly from my body, I am seeing tone, definition, and an increase in endurance. Also, my food choices are always much more mindful, (gotta love the kale and sweet potatoes), and the alcoholic beverages not as soothing as they once were! The alcohol consumption decrease is one of the biggest changes, but by far the best for my body! I still have a cocktail here and there, but its usually with soda water or none at all; no getting smashed, though! Truth be told, my diet was never really that poor, because when entering stand by recipes and choices into the calculator they weren’t that high in saturated fat or calories. Weeeell, except for my alcohol drinking, gah! So, these days I don’t drink to curb boredom, instead I read, do crosswords, socialize with friends sans alcohol. This is not say that I completely gave up alcohol, as I previously stated, I still have a cocktail here and there. I just don’t get shlossingly drunk, which is a much more grounded and healthy me.

Leave a Reply

